From the Roaring Deep

From the Roaring Deep

From the Roaring Deep

I have a poem published in From the Roaring Deep.

Writing this poem was a real breakthrough for me, a convergence of several things. First, in my devotional work with the Hellenic gods and my simultaneous working through an ADF study program, I had been holding one ADF-style ritual a month, each honoring a different god or goddess.

As part of an ADF bardic course, I had just read Rules for the Dance: A Handbook for Writing and Reading Metrical Verse, an excellent introduction to the nuances of metrical poetry. When my first ritual for Poseidon went badly, culminating in an omen that suggested the god’s displeasure, I decided to redo it, with an original poem written with some of the knowledge I had gained from the Mary Oliver book.

The resulting work pleased Posiedon, and now is published in From the Roaring Deep. But more than that, this devotional series from Bibliotheca Alexandrina is wonderful and I’m sure this volume will be no different. Pick it up.

Related: See my interview with Bibliotheca Alexandrina editor-in-chief Rebecca Buchanan.

